Arduino and Snips

arduino

Hello I am new to snips. I have a Arduino board to control motors. I am making a robotic hand using motors and arduino. So can I use Snips to arduino to control my robot using voice recognition. Or I have to add RaspberryPi to the module to work with Snips.

Please help and thanks in advance.

Well snips needs at least a raspberry pi for the ASR if thats what you want to know. When you already have one running you can use any microcontroller to connect to the mqtt broker snips uses and listen for the commands (Well you would need the possibility to connect to MQTT, so you would need the ability to connect to your homenetwork which the standard arduino can´t without any shields). The most common ways to connect are probably ethernet and wifi. I kind of like bluetooth aswell (especially low power bluetooth). So when you do not want to use any shields you might be better off with something like the esp32 (works with the arduino IDE aswell)

So in short you need a pi or something more powerfull for the speech stuff and for reacting you can use pretty much anything

Thank you. And I have some more doubts. Is Snips a free software?

Kind of depends on what you mean with free software.
For makers (so as long as you do not use it commercially) using snips does not cost anything.
If you mean free software as stated in this definition: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Software_Definition it is not or only partly. I mean for example the NLU is avaible on github as open source, but for example the ASR is not (according to snips it will probably be open sourced one day aswell)

Hello. I have some more doubts. I am using behringer U Phoria UM2 as audio interface with raspberry Pi. Should I install Snips on my Windows PC or install in Raspberry Pi?

I installed in my windows using command prompt. I am not able to do in Raspberry pi?

is there any tutorial for using snips with Windows and raspberry pi?

Thank you